This pleasant rest area, and the creek flowing through it, have been named after Walter Burchette, one of the four prospectors who discovered the Sullivan Mine. The other miners were Pat Sullivan, John Cleaver and Ed Smith.
Burchette was the first to discover ore at the site in his float, just a little farther up the Mark Creek valley. The team then found the source, staked two claims, “Hamlet” and “Shylock”, and recorded it. The discovery was to become the famous Sullivan Mine. The party of four worked their claims from 1892-1896, then sold to the Le Roi people for $24,000, “mighty big money in those days.”
You can learn more about the Sullivan Mine with a visit to the Orpheum Theatre, a train ride through the Mark Creek Valley and a tour of the Power House.
Walter Burchette, sitting on the site of the original outcropping he discovered in 1892. This photo was taken in 1944 when he returned to visit the Sullivan Mine.
From left to right:
E.C. Smith, John Cleaver, Pat Sullivan & Walter Burchette.
North Star School