& CHANCERY LAND
There are many alleyways to explore, connecting Bastion Square to Boomrang Court. The Court was the home to the Boomrang Saloon opened in 1856 by Ben and Adelaide Griffin, an English couple. Like many pioneers, the Griffins arrived in Victoria at the time of the Fraser River Gold Rush.
The word “chancery” means a court of justice. The Maritime Museum building was Victoria's Court House from 1889 to 1962 and was previously the site of Victoria's jail and gallows. The nearby Boomrang Saloon was a popular place to socialize. It was busiest when people would gather to witness public hangings.